With a record deal in hand from progressive/experimental independent label 10t Records, shining response from press, and blossoming fan bases across the country, Boston rock band THE VITAL MIGHT continues to churn out hard-hitting music that doesn’t shy away from mixing pop rock with metal, funk with prog, and captivating songwriting with psychedelic breaks.

Items of Note:

  • Record deal: In May, 2009, signed record deal with 10t Records, experimental/progressive record label based in Charleston, SCStudio: Released 2 LPs (2006 and 2009)
  • Touring: Played over 200 shows (eastern half of US) in 3 years
  • Publishing: “Don’t Mind Me”, featuring Morphine’s Dana Colley on saxophone, was featured on CBS’ top rated daytime drama The Young and the Restless
  • College radio: 160+ station rotation nationwide for both LPs
  • Conferences and contests: 2008 & 2007 Millennium Music Conference, 2007 WBCN Rock N’ Roll Rumble, 2009 Red Gorilla Festival during SXSW
  • Endorsements: Silverfox Percussion & Gallien-Krueger amplifiers
  • Press: Relix Magazine, Progression Magazine, SeaOfTranquility.org, Boston Globe, Boston Phoenix, Boston Herald

Press Quotes:
The band calls it a “sci-fi mafia love story.” This critic calls “Red Planet”, the heady sophomore CD from Boston’s Vital Might (below), a dramatic rock throwdown that blows away expectations – smart, heavy, and imaginative – Tristram Lozaw, The Boston Globe – October 2008

Grunge, metal, and psychedelic instrumentals are fused together with Andy Milk’s darkly mysterious voice in The Vital Might’s newly-released second album, Red Planet. The CD begins in an explosion of aching lyrics and heavy guitar riffs, reminiscent of Rage Against the Machine’s Evil Empire, followed pleasantly and strategically by more wistful moments that lend themselves to the experimental, psychedelic sound of Sigur Ros. Hungry moshers start your engines: These boys live to play shows. – Heather Simon – Relix Magazine – October 2008

More info:


Ph: 617.290.8559


Andy Milk – lead vocals, guitar
Evan Kraker – drums, percussion, vocals
Rick Gauthier – bass, vocals

Red Planet, LP, October 2008
Obsidian, LP, December 2006
Demo, October 2005

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *